Tags

, , , ,


In addition to the book giveaway we’ve got going on this week (ending Wednesday, so get those entries in!), Literophilia was lucky enough to get an interview with Kevin Krohn, author of the Severed Ties series. Chloe Parker spoke to Krohn about what’s next for the characters of Severed Ties, what it’s like to be a new author and of course, we found out what authors he likes to read when he’s not filling that role himself.

kevinkrohn

Literophilia: What inspired you to write about murder?

Kevin Krohn: I think the first thing that inspired me is the fact that I am a fan of murder mysteries, both books and movies.  There needs to be a point in the story where your protagonist faces adversity or a dilemma, and using murder as that device is exciting because of all the different ways a story can unfold from that point. Different characters can react differently, and the chain reaction a jarring event like murder can create makes it something that will continue to be a major part of television, movies, and literature.

That’s my generic answer… the real reason is that my dad took me to the drive-in to see Robocop when I was 10 years-old in 1987.  I don’t think he realized it was going to be so graphically violent.  I was definitely too young, and it definitely warped my brain a little.

L: What (or who?) was your inspiration for Nyne’s character?

KK: I wanted to put a person who, for the most part, lived a fairly normal life into circumstances usually reserved for stereotypical characters. A character protecting their family in such a physical sense is usually a strong male.  I was interested in the idea of not only making the main character a female, but a regular college-age girl dealing with the same issues most teenage/twenty-somethings face.  I watch a lot of old kung-fu movies, and the female assassins are always the coolest… never fails.

L: Who is your favorite character in Severed Ties? Why?

KK: It has to be Nyne.  She was the character I came up with before I really knew where I wanted the story to go, so it really starts and ends with her.  She is someone I would think would be fun to hang out with in real life.

L: Will Eric be making another appearance in the series?

KK: Eric is back in Volume II.  He plays a bigger part in Volume II, although I can’t remember if he is still around come the end of it….

L: What can readers expect from Volume II?

KK: Volume II picks up right where Volume I left off.  Nyne is determined to get answers, and many of the loose ends from Volume I are explained.  There are some new characters introduced to the story as well.

L: As a new author, what do you find is the hardest part of writing a book?

KK: It is hard to give up on some of the things you spent a long time writing. There is a big chunk of Volume II that I had to remove.  It didn’t fit with the tone of Volume I and was a little too dark. It is hard to part with 20-30 pages of writing that you worked so hard on. It also can get a little tough if you are writing and questioning what people will think of it before the finished product.

L: What was your process like for writing Severed Ties? Do you have a specific routine you follow when you write?

KK: I probably would have been a lot better off had I had a specific routine. I wrote pieces of it sporadically, and that is when I ran into trouble with having parts of Volume II that I couldn’t use. The storyline was fairly easy because I already had the entire story in my head; I just had to find a way to get it out articulately and get the characters to their final destinations in an entertaining way for the reader.

L: Who are some of your favorite authors? Favorite books?

KK: I noticed you had Invisible Monsters in your Top 5.  Chuck Palahniuk is my favorite author.  He is probably the only author that I would buy his book without hearing what the story is about. My favorite book is Where the Sidewalk Ends [by Shel Silverstein].

L: If you could ask your readers anything, what would you want to know?

KK: With Volume II due out June 30th, I always like to hear what people think will happen after Volume I. It is fun to hear people that have such different expectations of where the story is going. Some people have threatened me if I allow anything bad to happen to Nyne or Eric, so… we shall see.

